aside Re The Newtown Shooting: An Open letter To Ke$ha

Ke$ha earlier this month. /Media Image
Ke$ha earlier this month. /Media Image

Let me first start off by saying I hate open letters. They always feel like a safe way to tell people off, by making it seem that the author cares about the subject. Well, this isn’t one of those open letters. I am pissed, and I want everyone to know it. I promise it’ll be short and to the point.

First off, let me say that the horrible shooting that claimed the lives of those twenty six people in Newtown, Conneticut was an absolutely horrific act that shook the world, not only America. The very idea that, on some random morning your only plan is to go through life as usual, then only to be gunned down by a mentally unstable individual, is unfathomable. President Obama acted presidential and offered condolences to those affected, but as I type this, no ban on access to weapons have been implemented by the US government. My condolences to all affected.

Instead, the brunt of the Newtown shooting fell on Hollywood. To be more specific, it fell on Ke$ha, whose hit song (and possible future Billboard Hot 100 chart topper) “Die Young” was pulled from US radio because it was deemed too insensitive in the wake of the incident. Normally, I’d see no problem with this. However, are the first thoughts you have about the Newtown incident, song title aside, in any way related to Ke$ha’s track? My guess is no. Ke$ha, however, did not even bother to defend her music and instead opted to play the blame game. Here‘s why I take issue with Ke$ha following the decision to pull “Die Young“ from US radio:

1. “Die Young” has many weaknesses, amongst them Ke$ha’s vocals. However, neither the video nor the lyrics of “Die Young” glorify violence in any way, shape or form. Risqué encounters with indie-loving hipsters maybe, but definitely not violence. Gun violence is a matter to be addressed by the US legislator, not pop tarts. Which brings me to my last point.

2. Ke$ha’s tweet, in which she apologized and stated she did not want to do the song in the first place, paints her as another Hollywood puppet who doesn’t drive her own career. We all know the drill. Most pop artists don’t really have nearly as much say over their careers as their management wants the public to believe, but to explicitly state that you were forced to do this song is just pathetic. Did I mention that you are listed as a co-writer Ke$ha? This means you were instrumental in making the song, not that you just received a final product to record. We’re not fools, you know. From here onwards, every time I hear one of your songs, I will wonder whether you were dragged kicking and screaming to churn out another computerized hit. Put some soul into it, damnit. Some meaning. Yes, pop music can have soul if it is done right. Refer to Kelly Clarkson, if confusion persists. I’ve always thought of you as an individual, willing and able to speak your mind. My bad for being wrong.

So now that I have finished ranting, please note that I am not into abuse of any kind, whether it be on the internet or in my personal life. Do refrain from submitting comments that incite some form of troll culture on this blog. You can go to Perez for that.

Peace.

Leave a Reply

